Joel Cohen's Yokayo Chamber Players for Three Quintets

When: Sunday February 17, 2013 at 3:00 PM
Where: Ukiah SPACE Theater, Ukiah

The Deep Valley Chamber Music Series, now in its 5th season, presents the Yokayo Chamber Players in seldom heard performances of three excellent string quintets: 

  • Franz Schubert: String Quintet in C major,  Op. 163 
  • George Onslow: String Quintet No. 15 in C minor, Op. 38, La balle (The Bullet)
  • Luigi Boccherini: String Quintet in D major, Op. 39 No. 3

The Schubert C major Quintet is a truly outstanding work. It was composed in the summer of 1828, just two months before the composer's death. It is a work considered by many to be one of the greatest compositions in all of chamber music literature.

The performers have been assembled from among the Bay Area and northern California's top musicians and include: Claudia Bloom, violin; John Konigsmark, violin; Ruth Kahn, viola; Janet Witharm, cello, Joel Cohen, cello.

The Yokayo Chamber Players, a group assembled by Joel Cohen, takes its name Yokayo from the local native-American term for that beautiful, deep valley formed by the Russian River as it passes through the space now known as Ukiah, in Mendocino County, CA.

General Admission is $25. Youth tickets ($10) available at the door.
Advance tickets can be purchased at Mendocino Book Company, and online at brownpapertickets.